Sunday, November 19, 2017

2018 "Modern Baseball Era" Hall-of-Fame Ballot

     On December 10th, the Modern Baseball Era committee will convene to vote on 9 players and 1 executive, including: Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Don Mattingly, Marvin Miller, Jack Morris, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker, Ted Simmons, Luis Tiant and Alan Trammell.  Here is the link:

   The Modern Baseball Era committe is 1 of 4 era committees (Golden Days, Modern Baseball, Today's Game, Early Baseball) designed to give players and other baseball personnel that have been retired for more than 15 years another look at the Hall of Fame once they're no longer eligible to be looked at on the regular BBWAA ballot.

     The Modern Baseball Era committee consists of 16 member with each member being allowed up to 4 votes on the 10-person ballot.  In order to be elected, a player or ballot member must receive at least 75% of the committee votes--at least 12 out of the 16 possible. 

     The normal BBWAA hall-of-fame ballot results will be announced in the beginning of January 2018.

No comments:

Post a Comment