Sunday, November 18, 2012

1987 Topps: Turn Back the Clock (Carl Yastrzemski '67)

Miguel Cabrera is the only player to win the Triple Crown in the past 45 years. In 2012, Cabrera led the American League in with 44 HR's, 139 RBI's, and a .330 BA. His 2000 Topps Traded rookie card depicts a 17-year old Venezuelan infielder for the Florida Marlins. I should probably sell this card while it's hot ($50 BV).

From 1986-1990, Topps dedicated five cards from each set to the 'Turn Back the Clock' series, which reflected back 5-, 10-, 15-, 20-, and 25-years ago in baseball and card history (Note: if you had all 25 TBC cards between 1986-1990, it would encompass a complete range from 1961 to 1985). TBC cards where also produced in 1977, but they did not depict an older Topps card on the front.  I first heard about the Triple Crown not long after becoming interested in baseball cards. The year 1987 had marked 20 years since Carl Yastrzemski had won the Triple Crown, and I remember hearing people often talk about how great of an accomplish it was.   In fact the back of this 1987 Topps card describes Yastrzemski's feat as the "crowning achievement of 1967". 

1977 Topps TBC card.  If the Triple Crown wasn't such a big deal in baseball, then I don't think that Topps would have been celebrating its last occurrence every ten years.

1975 Topps.  Winning the Triple Crown was the 1st accomplishment mentioned for Yaz on the back of the '67 MVP sub-set card.  In 1967, Carl Yastrzemski led the American League with 44 HR's, 121 RBI's, and a .326 BA.

1966 Topps.  I used to think that the TBC cards were made to remind me that I would never be able to own a real copy of the cards depicted in their series.  Actually, I still don't own the '67 card depicted on the TBC card, but I do own the one before that.

     Who was the last person to win the Triple Crown before Yaz?   Frank Robinson won the Triple Crown after being Traded by Reds to the Orioles.  In 1966, he led the American League with 44 HR's, 121 RBI's, and a .316 BA.  F.Robinson won the A.L. MVP award after winning the Triple Crown. 

No comments:

Post a Comment